Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

John Katzenbach

Once a newspaper reporter for both the Miami News and subsequently the Miami Herald, John Katzenbach is the author of twelve novels and one nonfiction true crime book, First Born, a book that continues to be taught in abnormal psychology programs and medical schools. He has been published in more than thirty different countries and translated into dozens of languages. His work has occupied bestseller lists from Bonn to Buenos Aires. His thirteenth novel—RED 123—is slated for publication by Grove-Atlantic/The Mysterious Press in January, 2014, shortly after the re-issue of his 1987 New York Times bestseller The Traveler. RED 123 has already been a bestseller throughout Europe and Latin America.

Four of Katzenbach’s novels have been adapted for the screen: In the Heat of the Summer (his first fiction) which became The Mean Season, starring Kurt Russell and Mariel Hemingway. This was followed by Just Cause with Sean Connery and Laurence Fishburne, Hart’s War, with Colin Farrell and Bruce Willis, and most recently by a France 2 adaptation of The Wrong Man. A fifth film, based on his award-winning The Madman’s Tale is scheduled for production in 2014. Two other books are currently “in development” including the international bestseller The Analyst.

Over the years, his work has received awards in Germany, Austria, France—the Gran Prix du Litterature Policiere—and a “Ken Book Award” from the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill. His work has also been honored by the American College of Psychiatrists. He has been named a United States State Department Cultural Ambassador, and has lectured on writing the modern psychological thriller at festivals in Italy, Germany, Colombia, Argentina, and Mexico and at universities both in the USA and Latin America. When not working on a forthcoming novel, he also teaches a course on “journalists in film” at the University of Massachusetts.

He considers himself a better fly-fisherman than his old Herald buddy Carl Hiaasen, although this is a conceit that is in dispute.

Online Resources


Selected Bibliography

What Comes Next (2010)
The Wrong Man (2006)
The Madman’s Tale (2004)
The Analyst (2002)
State of Mind (1997)
Just Cause (1992)
The Traveler (1987)
In the Heat of Summer (1982)