Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates, photo by Dustin Cohen

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in short fiction. She has written some of the most enduring fiction of our time, including the national bestsellers We Were the Mulvaneys and Blonde (a finalist for the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize) and the New York Times bestsellers The Falls (winner of the 2005 Prix Femina Etranger) and The Gravedigger’s Daughter. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978. In 2003 she received the Commonwealth Award for distinguished service in literature and the Kenyon Review Award for Literary Achievement, and in 2006 she received the Chicago Tribune Lifetime Achievement Award.

Oates’s most recent work includes the novels The Accursed and Mudwoman and the short story collection Black Dahlia and White Rose. She is a 2011 recipient of the President’s National Medal in the Humanities and the 2010 recipient of the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. She is currently teaching in the graduate writing program at New York University.

selected bibliography

A Book of American Martyrs (forthcoming, 2016)
Carthage (2014)
Mudwoman (2012)
Blonde (2000)

Support local & independent booksellers! Click above to buy from Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West. Use “kwls17” at checkout for a 10% discount. Free shipping, or pickup at local bookstore.