Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

Thomas H. Cook

Thomas H. Cook is the author of over thirty books of both fiction and non-fiction.  He has been nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe award seven times in five different categories, and The Chatham School Affair won the Edgar for Best Novel in 1996.  Red Leaves won the Barry Award for Best Novel and was nominated for the Lawlie-Dagger Award of the British Crime Writers Association.  He has twice won the Martin Beck Award of the Swedish Academy of Detection, the only author ever to have done so.  His other works have been nominated for the Dashiell Hammett Prize, the Strand Award, the Anthony Bouchercon Award, the Barry Award, and the Grand Literrature Policiere in France.  His short story, “Fatherhood,” won the Herodotus Prize for Best Historical Mystery.  His works have been translated into more than twenty languages.  His latest novel, Sandrine’s Case, and his collection of short fiction, Fatherhood and Other Stories, were both published this year.

Cook was educated in the Alabama public schools at a time when students were taught nothing but the classics, mostly Dickens and Shakespeare, with a nod toward Hawthorne, Hemingway, Faulkner, and Fitzgerald.  He had never read a mystery or crime novel when he wrote Blood Innocents, his first novel, and was surprised when it was nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award.  Since then he has worked to incorporate all the elements of the literary novel—character-driven story, strong characterizations, atmosphere, and a deep sense of place—into all his novels, whether crime novels or not.

He believes that any novel—genre or otherwise—should have the feel of a balanced meal, complete with appetizer, entree, and dessert.

Online Resources

on Twitter @thomashcook

Selected Bibliography

Fatherhood: Collected Stories (2013)
Sandrine’s Case (2013)
The Crime Of Julian Wells (2012)
The Last Talk with Lola Faye (2011)
The Quest For Anna Klein (2011)
The Fate Of Katherine Carr (2009)
Master Of The Delta (2009)
The Cloud Of Unknowing (2007)
Red Leaves (2006)