My AccountCart


2012 Awards go to Nguyen, Strick, Wineteer

11/28/2011  by Arlo Haskell  2 Comments

We are delighted to announce the winners of this year’s named awards:

Sabra Wineteer

Sabra Wineteer

Sabra Wineteer

Sabra Wineteer grew up in Moss Bluff, Louisiana. She has since lived in England, New Zealand, Germany, Missouri, Tennessee, Texas, and currently lives in rural Pennsylvania. Her work has appeared in TWINS Magazine, storySouth, The Rumpus, 7X20, and will soon be anthologized in 140 And Counting.

Selected by Billy Collins
Diana Khoi Nguyen

Diana Khoi Nguyen

Diana Khoi Nguyen

Diana Khoi Nguyen is completing an MFA at Columbia University where she was the poetry editor of Columbia: A Journal of Literature and Art. Her awards include a teaching fellowship from Columbia University and the Fred & Edith Herman Memorial Prize from the Academy of American Poets. She has also been the recipient of scholarships from The Center for Book Arts, the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, and the Juniper Writing Institute. Her poems appear in Pool Poetry and are forthcoming in Devil’s Lake. She currently divides her time between Seattle and New York City.

Christy Strick

Christy Strick

Christy Strick

Christy Strick is a fiction writer whose work has appeared in New South: Georgia State University’s Journal of Art and Literature; Pearl; the Delmarva Review; Fast Forward: A Collection of Flash Fiction; lifewithobjects; and onepagestories. She has been awarded residencies at The Studios of Key West, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and Hambidge Center. Ms. Strick is a founding member and past president of WriterHouse, a nonprofit writing center in Charlottesville, Virginia. She is currently at work on a novel and a collection of flash fiction. More about her at

Each year, the Key West Literary Seminar grants three awards to emerging writers of exceptional merit living in the United States. Each provides full tuition to our January Seminar and Writers’ Workshop Program, round-trip airfare, seven nights’ lodging, support for living expenses while in Key West, and the opportunity to appear on stage during the Seminar.

We are grateful to Joyce Johnson, Peyton Evans and The Rodel Charitable Foundation-Florida, and The Dogwood Foundation for providing the endowments which will support our scholarship program for years to come.

More about our awards program here.


2 Responses

  1. […] I won. My short story went through the selection process and all the way up to Joyce Horton Johnson who personally chose it for her named award. […]

  2. […] I met Sabra at the Tin House conference in 2010 and was thrilled when I learned she had won the Joyce Horton Johnson Fiction award to attend the Key West Literary Seminar in January, 2012. She had the amazing opportunity to […]

Leave a Reply

©2016 Key West Literary Seminar | | Developed by: Magnetic Web Media