Apply now for 2012 Awards & Scholarships

Apply now for 2012 Awards & Scholarships

We are now accepting applications for our 2012 Scholarship Program.

Each year, we give three awards to honor emerging writers of exceptional merit living in the United States. The Joyce Horton Johnson Fiction Award, Marianne Russo Award, and Scotti Merrill Memorial Award each provide full tuition to the Seminar and Writers’ Workshop Program; round-trip airfare and seven nights’ lodging; support for living expenses while in Key West; and the opportunity to appear on stage during the Seminar.

In addition to the named awards, we provide limited financial assistance to teachers, librarians, writers, and students who would not otherwise be able to attend the January Seminar and/or Writers’ Workshop Program. This is primarily in the form of fee reductions, with some assistance available for lodging and travel expenses.

Applicants for the named awards are evaluated on the strength of a manuscript submission. Judges have included former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins; winners include Patricia Engel (Marianne Russo Award, 2009), whose debut story collection, Vida, was published by Grove/Atlantic to critical acclaim last Fall.

The deadline to apply for one of the named awards is September 30, 2011. Limited financial aid is given on a rolling basis until funds are depleted; interested applicants are urged to file as soon as possible.

Since 2008, we have supported more than 200 individuals with nearly $175,000 in assistance. This is made possible by support from Joyce Johnson, Peyton Evans, the Dogwood Foundation, and Judy Blume’s KIDS Fund.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>