Awards for Emerging Writers: Deadline 9/30

Awards for Emerging Writers: Deadline 9/30

Ernest Hemingway, emerging writer, 1899.

The Key West Literary Seminar presents three named awards each year to emerging writers of exceptional merit. Winners of the Joyce Horton Johnson Fiction Award, the Scotti Merrill Memorial Award, and the Marianne Russo Award receive full tuition to our January seminar and workshop program, round-trip airfare, seven nights’ lodging, support for living expenses while in Key West, and the opportunity to appear on stage during the Seminar. The application deadline is September 30, 2012.

Past winners of the awards include Nami Mun, whose 2008 novel Miles From Nowhere went on to win the Whiting Award and a Pushcart Prize; Patricia Engel, whose 2010 debut story collection Vida has earned widespread critical acclaim; and Kristen-Paige Madonia, author of the brand-new novel Fingerprints of You, which Judy Blume calls “luminous … original … compelling.”

Information about the awards program is here. Complete guidelines are here (at bottom of page). Our online application form is here.

Winners of the Johnson, Merrill, and Russo awards will be announced by November 15, and are expected to be in Key West January 13-20, 2013, in order to attend the second session of “Writers on Writers” and a workshop. Questions about the application process should be addressed to Miles Frieden: [email protected].

Also: we are continuing to grant limited financial support to teachers, librarians, writers, and students. Funds are being awarded on a rolling basis; applicants are urged to apply as soon as possible.

2 thoughts on “Awards for Emerging Writers: Deadline 9/30

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>