Colm Tóibín is Keynote Speaker for Session 2

Colm Tóibín is Keynote Speaker for Session 2

Colm Tóibín. Photo by Bruce Weber.

We are delighted to announce Colm Tóibín as keynote speaker for the second session of this year’s Key West Literary Seminar. The opening-night lecture will take place at the San Carlos Institute on Thursday, January 17, 2013. Tóibín’s performance will be the marquee event of “Writers on Writers” and commence a four-day exploration into the literary imagination by some of the keenest and most perceptive writers working today.

Tóibín is an acclaimed novelist, essayist, short story writer, and playwright. His works include The Master, a novel based on the life of Henry James; All a Novelist Needs, a collection of essays about James; and the 2012 collection New Ways to Kill Your Mother, which illuminates the intimate connections between writers and their families through the works of such authors as Tennessee Williams, William Butler Yeats, and Roddy Doyle. The Master won the IMPAC Dublin Prize, the Prix du Meilleur Livre, and the Los Angeles Times Novel of the Year, and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

Born in Enniscorthy, Ireland, and educated at University College in Dublin, Tóibín is a former editor of Magill, Ireland’s current affairs magazine, and a regular contributor to the Dublin Review, as well as the New York Review of Books and the London Review of Books. His literary criticism covers an extraordinary range of writers, including Samuel Becket, Hart Crane, Alan Hollinghurst, and Edmund White. His other novels include The Blackwater Lightship, made into a film starring Angela Lansbury; and Brooklyn, winner of the Costa Novel of the Year.

Register for “Writers on Writers”

the 31st annual Key West Literary Seminar
January 17-20, 2013
Paul Alexander, Blake Bailey, Billy Collins, Geoff Dyer, Jennie Fields, Brad Gooch, Lyndall Gordon, Claire Harman, Joyce Johnson, Christopher Lydon, Paul Mariani, Kate Moses, Ann Napolitano, Robert D. Richardson, Alexandra Styron, Colm Tóibín, Edmund White, and Brenda Wineapple.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>