Chapter One Keynote is Sara Paretsky

Chapter One Keynote is Sara Paretsky

Sara Paretsky, the New York Times #1 bestselling author and creator of V.I. Warshawski, the groundbreaking leading woman of American crime fiction.

We are excited to announce the selection of Sara Paretsky as the keynote speaker for the first session of the 2014 Key West Literary Seminar: The Dark Side.

Paretsky revolutionized crime writing in 1982 when she introduced private investigator V.I. Warshawski in Indemnity Only. By creating a female investigator with the grit and smarts to tackle problems on the mean Chicago streets, Paretsky challenged a genre in which women’s roles had been limited to vamps or victims. Fifteen more novels, including the 2012 Breakdown, have tracked the exploits of Warshawski, whose passion for social justice reflects Paretsky’s own.

Beyond the literary world, Paretsky has earned acclaim for her impassioned social advocacy, supporting organizations that promote literacy and reproductive rights, fighting on behalf of the mentally ill homeless, and drawing attention to the growing wealth gap through the Occupy movement.

Her awards have included the Cartier Diamond Dagger and Gold Dagger from the U.K.’s Crime Writers Association and she was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle award for her 2007 memoir, Writing in an Age of Silence.

Paretsky will deliver the John Hersey Memorial Address to begin “Chapter One” of the Dark Side on Thursday, January 9, 2014. She will be joined at the sold-out first session by celebrated authors including Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, William Gibson, Carl Hiaasen, Joyce Carol Oates, Alexander McCall Smith, and Scott Turow.

Watch this space for details about a free-and-open-to-the-public session to be held on the afternoon of Sunday, January 12, 2014. Or follow us on Facebook and/or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>