Cornelius Eady

Cornelius Eady, photo by Chip Cooper
Cornelius Eady, photo by Chip Cooper

Cornelius Eady is the author of several books of poetry, including the critically acclaimed Hardheaded Weather, which was nominated for an NAACP Image Award; Victims of the Latest Dance Craze, winner of the 1985 Lamont Poetry Selection from the Academy of American Poets; The Gathering of My Name, nominated for the 1992 Pulitzer Prize; and his most recent collection, The War Against the Obvious. In most of Eady’s poems, there is a musical quality drawn from blues and jazz. Indeed, many of his poem titles allude to traditional African-American hymns and modern musicians such as Thelonius Monk and Miles Davis.

With poet Toi Derricote, Eady is cofounder of Cave Canem, a national organization for African American poetry and poets. He is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship in poetry, the Rockefeller Foundation’s Bellagio Center Residency in Italy, and the Prairie Schooner Strousse Award. Eady is a professor in the MFA program at Stony Brook Southampton.

selected bibliography

Hardheaded Weather by Cornelius Eady
Hardheaded Weather (2008)
Brutal Imagination by Cornelius Eady
Brutal Imagination (2001)
The Gathering of My Name by Cornelius Eady
The Gathering of My Name (1991)
Victims of the Latest Dance Craze by Cornelius Eady
Victims of the Latest Dance Craze (1986)

Support local & independent booksellers! Click above to buy from Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West. Use “KWLS23” at checkout for a 20% discount. Free shipping, or pickup at local bookstore.

online resources

Cornelius Eady on Blue Flower Arts

Video: Eady on PBS News Hour