Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

Elizabeth George

Elizabeth George is the acclaimed author of the Inspector Lynley series, which continues in October 2013 with its eighteenth installment, Just One Evil Act. Her 1988 debut, A Great Deliverance, earned a rare triple crown in the mystery world, winning both the Anthony and Agatha awards for best first novel along with France’s Le Grand Prix de Literature Policiere. Most of George’s Inspector Lynley mysteries, which are set in the U.K., have been produced for television by the BBC and are broadcast in the U.S. on PBS’s Masterpiece. She has been called “a superstar of the crime-fiction world” whose “devilishly complicated” novels “reveal the sad spectrum of human dereliction.”

Professionally, George started out as a teacher. She was employed at Mater Dei High School in Santa Ana initially, but there she gave in to her bent for organized labor and was summarily fired along with ten other teachers for union activity. She moved on to El Toro High School in El Toro, California (now called Lake Forest, California), where she remained for the rest of her career as high-school English teacher. While employed there, she was selected Orange County Teacher of the Year, a tribute in part to the work she’d done with remedial students for nearly a decade. She left education after thirteen-and-a-half years when she sold A Great Deliverance to her first publisher, Bantam Books. In 2000, she founded the Elizabeth George Foundation, which offers emerging writers funding opportunities for up to one year’s living expenses.

George is a graduate of University of California in Riverside. She also attended California State University at Fullerton, where she was awarded a master’s degree in Counseling/Psychology and an honorary doctorate of humane letters. She holds an honorary Master of Fine Arts from the Whidbey Island Northwest Institute of Literary Arts and currently lives on Whidbey Island in the state of Washington.

Online Resources


Selected Bibliography

Just One Evil Act (2013)
Believing the Lie (2012)
The Edge of Nowhere (2012)
This Body of Death (2010)
Careless in Red (2008)
What Came Before He Shot Her (2006)