Jericho Brown

Jericho Brown, photo by Brian Cornelius

Jericho Brown is a Whiting Award winner and the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, the National Endowment for the Arts, Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Krakow Poetry Seminar in Poland. He was a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award, the Thom Gunn Award, and the Hurston Wright Poetry Prize.

Brown is the author of three collections of poetry: The Tradition (2019), a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award and the winner of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry; The New Testament (2014), which won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was named one of the best of the year by Library Journal, Coldfront, and the Academy of American Poets; and Please (2008), which won the 2009 American Book Award.

His poems have appeared in the Nation, the New Yorker, the New Republic, the New Yorker, the Paris Review, TIME magazine, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry anthologies.

He is the Charles Howard Candler Professor of Creative Writing and director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University in Atlanta.

selected bibliography

The Tradition by Jericho Brown
The Tradition (2020)
The New Testament by Jericho Brown
The New Testament (2014)
Please by Jericho Brown
Please (2008)

Support local & independent booksellers! Click above to buy from Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West. Use “KWLS21” at checkout for a 20% discount. Free shipping, or pickup at local bookstore.

online resources

Jericho Brown’s website
“Creative Writing Professor Named Finalist for National Book Award in Poetry,” the Emory Wheel, October 9, 2019
“For Poet, The Tradition Was an Unexpected Obsession,” the Los Angeles Times, April 13, 2019
“Brown: ‘Poetry is a veil in front of a heart beating at a fast pace,” the Guardian, July 28,  2018

Video: Brown at the 2019 National Book Festival