John Irving

John Irving
John Irving

John Irving was born in Exeter, New Hampshire, in 1942. His first novel, Setting Free the Bears, was published in 1968 when he was twenty-six years old. He competed as a wrestler for twenty years, and coached wrestling until he was forty-seven.

He has been nominated for a National Book Award three times, winning once, in 1980, for his novel The World According to Garp. He received an O. Henry Award in 1981 for his short story “Interior Space.” In 2000 he won the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay for The Cider House Rules. In 2013 he won a Lambda Literary Award for his novel In One Person.

An international writer—his novels have been translated into more than thirty-five languages—Irving lives in Toronto. His all-time bestselling novel—in every language—is A Prayer for Owen Meany.

Avenue of Mysteries is his fourteenth novel.

selected bibliography

Avenue of Mysteries by John Irving
Avenue of Mysteries (2015)
A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
A Prayer for Owen Meany (2002)
The Cider House Rules by John Irving
The Cider House Rules (1985)
The World According to Garp by John Irving
The World According to Garp (1978)

Support local & independent booksellers! Click above to buy from Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West. Use “KWLS21” at checkout for a 20% discount. Free shipping, or pickup at local bookstore.

online resources

John Irving’s website
“Forty years later, The World According to Garp remains ‘a treasure beyond scope,'” National Post, April 5, 2018
“Irving always knows where he’s going,” author interview on NPR’s Morning Edition, November 3, 2015
“Sexual Outsiders: Three Questions with Irving,” Publishers Weekly, April 13, 2012

Video: “The world according to the famous writer Irving” by True Story Documentary Channel