Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

Percival Everett

Percival Everett is the author of more than twenty novels, three collections of short fiction, and two volumes of poetry. With these novels and collections of stories to his credit, Everett has developed a reputation as a wordsmith. One critic describes him as a lyrical writer, whose “stark and sometimes powerful prose” leaves a lasting impression. His 1994 book God’s Country drew measured praise from the New York Times: “[The novel] starts sour, then abruptly turns into Cowpoke Absurdism, ending with an acute hallucination of blood, hate and magic. It’s worth the wait. The novel sears.”

He is the recipient of the PEN Center USA Award for Fiction, the Academy Award from an American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, The Believer Book Award, The Vallombrosa Von Rezzori Prize, the PEN/Oakland-Josephine Miles Award for Excellence in Literature, and a New American Writing Award. His stories have been included in the Pushcart Prize Anthology and Best American Short Stories. He has served as a judge for, among others, the 1997 National Book Award for fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction in 1991. He teaches fiction writing and critical theory and is currently Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Southern California.

Online Resources

Interview w/ Rone Shavers for BOMB Magazine
Reviewed by Gregory Leon Miller in the Los Angeles Review of Books

Selected Bibliography

Percival Everett By Virgil Russell (2013)
Assumption (2011)
Erasure (2011)
I Am Not Sidney Poitier (2009)
The Water Cure, A Novel (2008)
Wounded, A Novel (2007)
American Desert (2005)