Speaker was part of past seminar. (Click for upcoming Speakers)

Tess Gerritsen

Internationally bestselling author Tess Gerritsen took an unusual route to a writing career. A graduate of Stanford University, Tess went on to medical school at the University of California, San Francisco, where she was awarded her M.D.

While on maternity leave from her work as a physician, she began to write fiction. In 1987, her first novel was published. Call After Midnight, a romantic thriller, was followed by eight more romantic suspense novels. She also wrote a screenplay, “Adrift,” which aired as a 1993 CBS Movie of the Week starring Kate Jackson.

Tess’s first medical thriller, Harvest, was released in hardcover in 1996, and it marked her debut on the New York Times bestseller list. Since that time, her books have been top-three bestsellers in the United States and abroad. They have been translated into forty languages, and more than twenty-five million copies have been sold around the world. Gerritsen has won both the Nero Wolfe Award (for Vanish) and the Rita Award (for The Surgeon). Critics around the world have praised her novels as “pulse-pounding fun” (Philadelphia Inquirer), “scary and brilliant” (Toronto Globe and Mail), and “polished, riveting prose” (Chicago Tribune). Publisher’s Weekly has dubbed her the “medical suspense queen.”

Gerritsen’s series of novels featuring homicide detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles inspired the TNT television series Rizzoli & Isles starring Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander.

Now retired from medicine, she writes full time—when she’s not traveling, gardening, or playing Irish tunes on her fiddle. She and her husband live in Maine.

Online Resources


Selected Bibliography

Last To Die (2012)
The Silent Girl (2011)
The Bone Garden (2007)
Body Double (2004)
The Sinner (2003)
The Surgeon (2001)
Gravity (1999)
Life Support (1997)