Victor LaValle

Victor LaValle, photo by Teddy Wolff
Victor LaValle, photo by Teddy Wolff

Victor LaValle is the author of the short story collection Slapboxing with Jesus; five novels: The Ecstatic, Big Machine, The Devil in Silver, The Changeling, and Lone Women; and two novellas: Lucretia and the Kroons and The Ballad of Black Tom. He is also the creator and writer of two comic books: Victor LaValle’s Destroyer and Eve.

He has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the American Book Award, a World Fantasy Award, Bram Stoker Award, Guggenheim Fellowship, the Whiting Award in Fiction, a United States Artists Ford Fellowship, multiple British Fantasy Awards, the 2009 Shirley Jackson Award for best novel (Big Machine), and the key to Southeast Queens. His novel The Changeling has been adapted for Apple TV, where he served as an executive producer.

LaValle was raised in Queens, New York. He now lives in the Bronx with his wife, author Emily Raboteau, and their two children. He teaches at Columbia University.

selected bibliography

Lone Women by Victor LaValle
Lone Women (2023)
Destroyer by VIctor LaValle
Victor LaValle’s Destroyer (2018)
The Changeling by Victor LaValle
The Changeling (2017)
Slapboxing with Jesus by Victor LaValle
Slapboxing with Jesus (1999)

Support local & independent booksellers! Click above to buy from Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West. Use “KWLS25” at checkout for a 20% discount. Free shipping, or pickup at local bookstore.

online resources

Victor LaValle’s website

Video: Interview with LaValle on the Lovecraft eZine podcast