Scheduled Poets
Kim Addonizio
John Ashbery
Lucille Clifton
Billy Collins
Robert Creeley
Martín Espada
Lawrence Ferlinghetti
Carolyn Forché
Forrest Gander
Dan Gerber
Jane Hirshfield
Carolyn Kizer
Dorianne Laux
Semezdin Mehmedinović
Sharon Olds
Charles Simic
James Tate
Quincy Troupe
Derek Walcott
Richard Wilbur
C. D. Wright

2003 Seminar Main Page
2003 Registration
2003 Workshops
2003 Schedule
2003 Lodging
Give us your input

Literary Seminar Home Page

Key West Literary Seminar

poetry 2003

the beautiful changes
poetry 2003

C. D. Wright
C. D. Wright

C. D. Wright was born in 1949 in Mountain Home, Arkansas. She received a B.A. from Memphis State University and an M.F.A. from the University of Arkansas. She has published nine volumes of poetry including Deepstep Come Shining (Copper Canyon, 1998); Tremble (1996); Just Whistle (1993); String Light (1991), which won the Poetry Center Book Award; Further Adventures with You (1986); and Translation of the Gospel Back into Tongues (1981). She has also published two state literary maps, one for Arkansas, her native state, and one for Rhode Island, her adopted state. Among her numerous honors are fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation, the Bunting Institute, as well as awards from the Lannan Foundation, the Witter Bynner Prize, and a Whiting Award. In 1994 she was named State Poet of Rhode Island, a five-year post. With poet Forrest Gander she edits Lost Roads Publishers. Wright teaches at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

photo copyright © Dorothy Alexander
Bio courtesy of

Copyright © 2002 Key West Literary Seminar
Site by Xisle Graphix

Best viewed in Internet Explorer 5+