Now accepting scholarship applications!

We are now accepting applications for our three main funding opportunities, and we have new application deadlines:

Teacher and Librarian Scholarships – deadline June 15
Emerging Writer Awards – deadline June 30
Workshop Financial Aid – priority deadline July 14

Our Scholarship Program aims to nourish a vibrant literary culture by providing support to a diverse group of teachers, librarians, readers, and writers while promoting the work of new voices in American literature. Since 2008, we’ve granted over $405,000 in scholarship support to more than 430 individuals.

More details about these funding opportunities below:


Twenty full scholarships are available for teachers and librarians who wish to attend the 36th annual Seminar, “Writers of the Caribbean,” featuring Jamaica Kincaid, Marlon James, Edwidge Danticat, Madison Smartt Bell, Nicole Dennis-Benn, Leonardo Padura, and other renowned speakers.

We seek individuals who are making a positive impact upon readers in their communities, and we hope that participation in our literary community will inspire fresh engagement with literature in schools and libraries around the country.

Scholarship recipients will receive a full waiver of the Seminar registration fee of $575, and financial assistance to offset lodging costs as needed. The deadline to apply is June 15.

Apply for a Teacher and Librarian Scholarship


Three Emerging Writer Awards are presented each year. The Marianne Russo Award, the Scotti Merrill Memorial Award, and the Cecelia Joyce Johnson Award recognize and support writers who possess exceptional talent and demonstrate potential for lasting literary careers.

Each award is tailored to a particular literary form. The Merrill Award recognizes a poet, while fiction writers may apply for either the Johnson Award (for a short story) or the Russo Award (for a novel-in-progress).

Winners receive full tuition support for our January Seminar and Writers’ Workshop Program, round-trip airfare, lodging, a $500 honorarium, and the opportunity to appear on stage during the Seminar. Runners-up for each award will also be offered generous financial assistance packages. The deadline to apply is June 30.

Apply for an Emerging Writer Award


Twenty-four Financial Assistance Scholarships are available to writers who wish to participate in our Writers’ Workshop Program. We hope to support the development of diverse new voices in American literature and provide opportunities to those who may not otherwise be able to attend.

Workshop faculty includes Madison Smartt Bell, Billy Collins, Manuel Gonzales, Naomi Jackson, Kristen-Paige Madonia, Daniel Menaker, Kate Moses, Rowan Ricardo Phillips, Joy Williams, and Lisa Zeidner.

Scholarship recipients will receive partial or full fee waivers to our Writers’ Workshop Program (up to $550). Limited financial assistance to offset lodging costs is also available. The priority deadline is July 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>