This workshop was already conducted. (Click for upcoming workshops)

Luis Alberto Urrea

Trust: Collaborating with the Shadow

Luis Alberto Urrea, photo by Joe Mazza
Luis Alberto Urrea, photo by Joe Mazza
See all 2021 Workshops


Story is alive and waiting to help your work evolve in ways both seen and unseen. What you hide in the shadow is as important as what you put on the page—make them work together. In these mixed-levels sessions for novelists and short story writers, participants will workshop their material, generate new writing, and learn about making use of both the shadows and the light.


This class is now FULL. We have allocated our financial aid for this class.

  • Please submit a cover letter that states your interest in this workshop and gives an overview of your writing background and prior workshop experience, if any.
  • The cost is $600. If you are selected to participate in the workshop, a deposit of $200 is required to register, with the balance due by September 30.
  • Applications will be accepted on a rolling basis until the class is full.

Financial Assistance is available to those who would not otherwise be able to attend—click here for guidelines and application.


A Pulitzer Prize finalist, Luis Alberto Urrea is the bestselling author of seventeen books and a member of the Latino Literature Hall of Fame. His latest novel, The House of Broken Angels, was named one of the best books of the year 2018 by NPR, the American Library Association, the San Francisco Chronicle, Newsday, and Kirkus Reviews, among others. He is the recipient of an American Academy of Arts and Letters award, and his collection of short stories, The Water Museum, was a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. Into the Beautiful North, his 2009 a novel, is a Big Read selection by the National Endowment of the Arts and has been chosen by more than fifty cities and colleges as a community read. Urrea’s nonfiction book, The Devil’s Highway: A True Story, was a finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the Pacific Rim Kiriyama Prize, and won the Lannan Literary Award.